Skip to Content Skip to Main Menu

Faculty of Arts & Science

Arts & Science News

Expert in election law is one of six from U of T named to Royal Society of Canada’s college for emerging scholars

Faculty of Arts & Science history professor Sean Mills named new member of the college

Democracy is under threat in many places globally, from the suppression of voting rights and influence of money in political campaigns to the collapse of longstanding democratic institutions.

For Yasmin Dawood, a leading scholar of election law from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Law, this puts Canada’s own challenges and successes in electoral fairness and democratic governance in sharp focus.

Headshot photo of Sean MillsSean Mills is a historian of post-1945 Canadian and Quebec history, with research interests that include postcolonial thought, migration, race, gender, and the history of empire and social movements. In his prize-winning and widely acclaimed articles and books, he has significantly contributed to the inter nationalization of Canadian history, and has opened up new pathways of research into Canada’s relationship with the Global South.

“There is considerable concern about the fate and future of democracy around the world, and we have a role to play in questioning what’s happening and looking for solutions,” says Dawood, the Canada Research Chair in Democracy, Constitutionalism and Electoral Law.

She is one of six emerging scholars at U of T named this year as members of the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

Read More about Yasmin Dawood

The college, which was established in 2014, recognizes and fosters leadership and interdisciplinary collaboration among Canada’s new generation of scholars, artists and scientists who received their PhD within the last 15 years. To date, 26 U of T scholars have been named to the college. Membership extends for seven years.

“The University of Toronto is proud of our six new members joining the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists,” says Vivek Goel, U of T’s vice-president of research and innovation. “We are grateful that the Royal Society is recognizing their work in a broad range of fields and the impact of their research in society. We look forward to seeing their new collaborations and exciting research.”

The U of T scholars joining Dawood as new members of the Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists are:

  • Katherine Larson, associate professor and chair of the department of English at U of T Scarborough
  • Sally Lindsay, associate professor in the department of occupational science and occupational therapy in the Faculty of Medicine, and senior scientist with the Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital
  • Alison McGuigan, associate professor in the department of chemical engineering and applied chemistry in the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering
  • Sean Mills, associate professor in the department of history in the Faculty of Arts & Science
  • Jennifer Stinson, associate professor in the Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing and a nurse clinician scientist at the Hospital for Sick Children.