Skip to Content Skip to Main Menu

Faculty of Arts & Science

Arts & Science News

Two A&S researchers among stellar group of NSERC award recipients

Photo of:  Stephen Wright and Barbara Sherwood LollarArts & Science faculty members Barbara Sherwood Lollar and Stephen Wright are among an elite group of Canadian researchers being honoured today by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).

Sherwood Lollar is the recipient of NSERC’s John C. Polanyi Award for her ground-breaking research into billion-year-old water and the clues it may provide to ancient life on Earth and Mars. The award honours an individual or team whose Canadian-based research has led to an outstanding advancement in the natural sciences or engineering.

Wright receives one of six E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships for his pioneering research in the emerging field of evolutionary genomics. The prize serves to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising scientists and engineers.

Other U of T winners include Shana Kelley and Edward (Ted) Sargent who share the Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering, and David Sinton, a recipient of an E.W.R.Steacie Memorial Fellowship. All are in the Faculty of Applied Sciences and Engineering.

Read more about the award-winning research recognized by NSERC today: